Clare Station remained in operation until the Beeching closures. Passenger services stopped on 6 March 1967, whilst freight services had ceased in 1966, and as early as 1963, it had become an un staffed halt. Road access to the Station passed through Clare Castle’s outer bailey, this is now a path leading from the Station Road entrance to the Park to the Old Station House in the centre of the Park.
Still in place are the Stationmaster’s house with its ticket office and waiting room; a smaller waiting room across the tracks, and the last known 1865 goods shed. The three buildings together as a group are very rarely found today, and because of that in 2013 the complex was listed Grade II. A crane of the type used to lift heavy goods has recently been installed near the goods shed. The Railway Walk towards Cavendish begins by passing under a picturesque viaduct that carries the roadway to the former site of Clare Mill, destroyed by fire in the 1970s.
For further details please visit the Clare Castle Country Park Website.